Ask Your Question

Revision history [back]

click to hide/show revision 1
initial version

Quoting @watermurf: "Is this change by intent or is this a bug?"
Sorry, I don't know. If yoususpect it to be a bug, or if you simply want to get it changed you should file a bug report to https://bugs.documentfoundation.org.

By the way: Just today I commented on a different post (concerning lost data) in this forum as follows:

If you try to close a modified document you will be prompted concerning a 'Save' with three options.
This moment there's always a little risk to choose the Don't Save option inadvertently due to
-1- distraction or microsleep
-2- the wrong assumption the focus was on another document's frame
-3- having done so a few times in advance for other documents
-4- hitting Alt+D instead Alt+S (The keys for D and S are next to each other.)
-5- being unable to suppress a sneeze
-6- ...?
My way to avoid this is to always order a Save expressliy before I trigger the Close command.
I don't actually know, but: Under specific conditions concerning the system settings or other person's access there may also have occurred an unattended CloseDown/Restart cycle? (I once printed about 1000 sheets of special paper without updated content on a remote printer inadvertently due to one inadvertent mouseclick. It was a damage of about EUR150.)

Quoting @watermurf: "Is this change by intent or is this a bug?"
Sorry, I don't know. If yoususpect it to be a bug, or if you simply want to get it changed you should file a bug report to https://bugs.documentfoundation.org.

By the way: Just today I commented on a different post (concerning lost data) in this forum as follows:

If you try to close a modified document you will be prompted concerning a 'Save' with three options.
This moment there's always a little risk to choose the Don't Save option inadvertently due to
-1- distraction or microsleep
-2- the wrong assumption the focus was on another document's frame
-3- having done so a few times in advance for other documents
-4- hitting Alt+D instead Alt+S (The keys for D and S are next to each other.)
-5- being unable to suppress a sneeze
-6- ...?
My way to avoid this is to always order a Save expressliy before I trigger the Close command.
I don't actually know, but: Under specific conditions concerning the system settings or other person's access there may also have occurred an unattended CloseDown/Restart cycle? (I once printed about 1000 sheets of special paper without updated content on a remote printer inadvertently due to one inadvertent wrong mouseclick. It was a damage of about EUR150.)

Quoting @watermurf: "Is this change by intent or is this a bug?"
Sorry, I don't know. If yoususpect you suspect it to be a bug, or if you simply want to get it changed you should file a bug report to https://bugs.documentfoundation.org.

By the way: Just today I commented on a different post (concerning lost data) in this forum as follows:

If you try to close a modified document you will be prompted concerning a 'Save' with three options.
This moment there's always a little risk to choose the Don't Save option inadvertently due to
-1- distraction or microsleep
-2- the wrong assumption the focus was on another document's frame
-3- having done so a few times in advance for other documents
-4- hitting Alt+D instead Alt+S (The keys for D and S are next to each other.)
-5- being unable to suppress a sneeze
-6- ...?
My way to avoid this is to always order a Save expressliy before I trigger the Close command.
I don't actually know, but: Under specific conditions concerning the system settings or other person's access there may also have occurred an unattended CloseDown/Restart cycle? (I once printed about 1000 sheets of special paper without updated content on a remote printer inadvertently due to one wrong mouseclick. It was a damage of about EUR150.)