Ask Your Question

Revision history [back]

click to hide/show revision 1
initial version

Page 312 of Writer 4.2 Guide says: "Updating a document from a changed template....... If you choose Keep Old Styles in the message box shown in Figure 307 after changing the template, and then at some stage save the document, then that message will not appear again the next time you open the document. You will not get another chance to update the styles from the template, although you can use the macro given in the Note below to re-enable this feature."

So I think your invoice will be permanently disconnected from the template if you elect to not update.

Page 312 of Writer 4.2 Guide says: "Updating a document from a changed template....... If you choose Keep Old Styles in the message box shown in Figure 307 after changing the template, and then at some stage save the document, then that message will not appear again the next time you open the document. You will not get another chance to update the styles from the template, although you can use the macro given in the Note below to re-enable this feature."

So I think your invoice will be permanently disconnected from the template if you elect to not update.

EDIT: Here's another (simple) thought .... Open for editing your original invoice Template and save-as type .odt to a folder outwith LO’s reach, e.g. where you keep your data files. This new “working master” document will have no template link and can be used as the original to create specific invoices. If you change the Template in the future, re-create a new “working” invoice. Existing invoices will be unaffected.