Ask Your Question
0

Do I need to uninstall the previous version before I install 6.2.2?

asked 2019-04-19 18:15:40 +0200

Heretic gravatar image

Should I manually uninstall my previous version of LibreOffice before I install version 6.2.2, or will LibreOffice do it when I run the install?

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

3 Answers

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
0

answered 2019-04-20 16:38:14 +0200

petermau gravatar image

Linux based systems, like mainframe systems, have version control. Windows does not. As @Opaque wrote a new version of LibreOffice on Linux systems will update and replace versions with the same decimal point. So, for example, 6.2.3 will replace 6.2.2 but not 6.1. On my system I have 5.4, 6.1 and 6.3. this allows me to test new versions and migrate across when happy and move users across on by one. They do, however, use the same .config file so I always back that up first before making changes.

This means that I need to remove versions when I no longer use them, using synaptic. I also, as part of my background, use synaptic to remove a previous version, for example 6.2.2 as 6.2 before installing 6.2.3, although this is theoretically not needed. I just prefer this approach.

edit flag offensive delete link more
0

answered 2019-04-19 20:43:57 +0200

gabix gravatar image

Uninstalling a previous version is not necessary. However, I always do it and make sure to remove any traces of the previous version from the installation directory. This frees some disk space and prevents issues about permissions and file locks. And always back up the user profile before updating.

edit flag offensive delete link more
0

answered 2019-04-19 18:56:19 +0200

Opaque gravatar image

updated 2019-04-19 19:39:01 +0200

Depends on - on which version you are now and - what you finally want to have

If your current version is 6.1 or lower and you don't want to keep the old version you must remove it manually since 6.1 and lower are considered separate releases, which can be used simultaneously.

If your current version is 6.1 or lower and you want to keep the old version then just install 6.2 and decide later on (e.g. if you are happy with the new version) to delete the old one.

If your current version is already 6.2.0.x or 6.2.1.x just install 6.2.2 (or better use 6.2.3). This will be considered an update to release 6.2.<x.y>

Hope that helps.

Update: Fr 19. Apr 19:36:09 CEST 2019

Forget the nonsense above and stick to the comment of @Mike Kaganski

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

Huh? what is this answer based on? Actually, you need to do quite a lot to allow different versions coexist. Well - there are portable versions; but e.g. if you have LO 3.3 installed on Windows, and would install 6.2, the former would be completely uninstalled and replaced with the latter...

Mike Kaganski gravatar imageMike Kaganski ( 2019-04-19 19:08:24 +0200 )edit

ok - may be I'm "Linux-blind" but that's how it worked for me on Linux. Each release creates a new directory in /opt and just using -env:UserInstallation=<somepath> allows even for separation of user profile. But would prefer to delete that stupid, overly quick answer ...

Opaque gravatar imageOpaque ( 2019-04-19 19:27:10 +0200 )edit

you need to do quite a lot to allow different versions coexist.

Why, just get a development build, and it will install separately from any stable one (and a separate user profile will be created).

gabix gravatar imagegabix ( 2019-04-19 20:37:41 +0200 )edit
Login/Signup to Answer

Question Tools

1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2019-04-19 18:15:40 +0200

Seen: 76 times

Last updated: Apr 20