Ask Your Question
0

How do I get rid of an older version of Libre Office that keeps interfering with my newer version?

asked 2015-03-09 18:02:28 +0200

pixillated53 gravatar image

updated 2016-03-06 13:48:17 +0200

Alex Kemp gravatar image

Hello: I have tried to download newer versions of Libre Office but the old one keeps taking over. Now I have two versions on my computer - the new one (I make new documents with that) and the old one - any existing documents I made before, open with THAT one. It's very confusing! I want to migrate my older docs into this new version. I do NOT know code. I just want to simply UNinstall the older version.

I have Mac OS10 snow leopard. (yes, it's almost obsolete; I am poor.)

Some details: the "new " version I downloaded is 4.3.5.2. Build ID: 3a87456aaa6a95c63eea1c1b3201acedf0751bd5. That is on my desktop. The "old" one I can't get rid of is: LibreOffice 3.6.4.3 OOO360m1(Build:3). That is in my applications folder. No matter where I move it to try to delete it, it won't let me move it to trash because the message says it's "open."

When I open an old document made with the old build it comes up in the OLD Libre office. Can I just delete the old application, or do I somehow have to change my hundreds and hundreds of documents made with THAT, to the "new" build - which so far I can only get to open through the internet - and keep from "ejecting" it? (?)

Normally the new program, or whatever, uninstalls the old one, or you have an option to do so. I never received that option and have been fighting with this old build ever since I downloaded it. I don't want to do anything to old libre office app and risk losing all my old documents. Please, will you help me? I'm not a techie but I can do simple things normally, like install and uninstall applications. THANKS in advance. I just want one - newest - Libre Office build on my computer and I just want all my documents to be OK!

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

1 Answer

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
0

answered 2015-03-11 06:03:36 +0200

oweng gravatar image

It is necessary to ensure the copy of LO to be removed is not running. Perhaps try restarting the computer and then moving the old version to the rubbish bin.

edit flag offensive delete link more
Login/Signup to Answer

Question Tools

1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2015-03-09 18:02:28 +0200

Seen: 619 times

Last updated: Mar 11 '15