Ask Your Question

Revision history [back]

click to hide/show revision 1
initial version

SERIOUS WARNING! "Close" button acts as "OK".

I am using the latest version of LO and noticed some very strange (and dangerous) behavior.

In some occasions (I didn't try them all of course) pressing the "close" button of a pop-up box, has the same result as clicking the "OK" button.

For example, I wanted to delete a template. By mistake I selected the wrong template, so I closed the pop-up box (by pressing the little cross). Instead of aborting the operation (normal behavior) my template got deleted (as if I had pressed the "OK" button). So gone was my template. I tried to repeat this behavior and the exact same thing happened.

Another example. Create a new style. Now modify this style by changing the background color to, for example, red. Do NOT click the "OK" button, but instead click the "Close" button (the little cross). Now try modifying your style again ... surprise surprise, you will notice that your background color has been saved, while you didn't press the "OK" button.

This is a serious warning, because it can cause unexpected behavior. In my case I unintentionally threw away a template.

SERIOUS WARNING! "Close" button acts as "OK".

I am using the latest version of LO and noticed some very strange (and dangerous) behavior.

In some occasions (I didn't try them all of course) pressing the "close" button of a pop-up box, has the same result as clicking the "OK" button.

For example, I wanted to delete a template. By mistake I selected the wrong template, so I closed the pop-up box (by pressing the little cross). Instead of aborting the operation (normal behavior) my template got deleted (as if I had pressed the "OK" button). So gone was my template. I tried to repeat this behavior and the exact same thing happened.

Another example. Create a new style. Now modify this style by changing the background color to, for example, red. Do NOT click the "OK" button, but instead click the "Close" "close" button (the little cross). Now try modifying your style again ... surprise surprise, you will notice that your background color has been saved, while you didn't press the "OK" button.

This is a serious warning, because it can cause unexpected behavior. In my case I unintentionally threw away a template.

SERIOUS WARNING! "Close" button acts as "OK".

I am using the latest version of LO and noticed some very strange (and dangerous) behavior.

In some occasions (I didn't try them all of course) pressing the "close" button of a pop-up box, has the same result as clicking the "OK" button.

For example, I wanted to delete a template. By mistake I selected the wrong template, so I closed the pop-up box (by pressing the little cross). Instead of aborting the operation (normal behavior) my template got deleted (as if I had pressed the "OK" button). So gone was my template. I tried to repeat this behavior and the exact same thing happened.

Another example. Create a new style. Now modify this style by changing the background color to, for example, red. Do NOT click the "OK" button, but instead click the "close" button (the little cross). Now try modifying your style again ... surprise surprise, you will notice that your background color has been saved, while you didn't press the "OK" button.

This is a serious warning, because it can cause unexpected behavior. In my case I unintentionally threw away a template.