Ask Your Question
1

No upgrading from 3.4 to 4.1 ? [closed]

asked 2013-10-22 22:00:57 +0200

librete gravatar image

updated 2015-11-12 06:25:52 +0200

Alex Kemp gravatar image
  • Have 3.4 installed + many docs.
  • Downloaded 4.1
  • Wizard says "exit 3.4 AND 3.4 quickstarter

Problem: 3.4 NOT open and Quickstarter is NOT checked (nor is Libre on startmenu/taskbar)

Tried installing 6 times now ....

(Windows 7)

edit retag flag offensive reopen merge delete

Closed for the following reason question is not relevant or outdated by Alex Kemp
close date 2015-11-12 06:26:12.758292

3 Answers

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
1

answered 2013-10-22 23:34:22 +0200

librete gravatar image

updated 2013-10-22 23:35:58 +0200

If I do so (delete 3.4) , will I :

A.) lose access to docs made in 3.4 ?

B.) lose any other benefit ?

(running MS Win 7)

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

A.- no, B.- backup user profile. Please read my updated answer.

carnendil gravatar imagecarnendil ( 2013-10-22 23:52:47 +0200 )edit
1

answered 2013-10-23 04:14:09 +0200

ROSt52 gravatar image

@librete - when upgrading from 3 to 4 absolutely follow @carnendil 's advice and back up your user profile of 3. You can copy it back into the profil of 4 piece by piece and preserve the icons etc you used in 3.

edit flag offensive delete link more
0

answered 2013-10-22 22:34:44 +0200

carnendil gravatar image

updated 2013-10-22 23:51:25 +0200

I would suggest remove/uninstall LibO 3.x before trying to install LibO4.x. If you are running Linux, this must be done.

Simply upgrading usually works fine between "point" releases (e.g., 4.1.1 to 4.1.2), but can be problematic between major releases and, sometimes, even between "branches" (e.g. 4.0.x to 4.1.x).

For MS Windows, the Document Foundation indicates that:

You do not have to de-install any previously-installed version of LibreOffice. If you do have an existing installation of LibreOffice, all your preferences will be preserved and that old installation will simply be overwritten.

However, a clean install might help save you from headaches coming from MS Windows itself, and not necessarily from LibreOffice.

Your documents will not be affected at all, whether they are saved in the LibO's native open document format or MS Office formats.

However, you will lose some customizations. I recommend you backup your user profile. See more in this answer.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Question Tools

1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2013-10-22 22:00:57 +0200

Seen: 95 times

Last updated: Oct 23 '13