I canceled the recovery by mistake

asked 2020-07-30 18:47:03 +0200

ChameleonScales gravatar image

updated 2020-08-05 23:52:55 +0200

Alex Kemp gravatar image

Hi,

So I was editing my spreadsheet and LibreOffice crashed.

Since I didn't want the latest edits I made and was convinced the version I wanted to reopen was the one I saved, I canceled the recovery when LO prompted me to.

Unfortunately I was very wrong, as the version I reverted to was way older and I lost a lot of work.

So I'm wondering: is the recovery file still anywhere at this point or has it been written over by the reopened version?

Note that "Always create backup copy" was not enabled (but boy did I fix that right away!)

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

Comments

1

So I'm wondering: is the recovery file still anywhere at this point or has it been written over by the reopened version?

No - you decided to disregard the recovery information by cancelling the recovery.

BTW: Always create backup copy might not fulfill your requirements, since this makes a backup copy of your previous version only. Consider some versioning/backup strategy.

Opaque gravatar imageOpaque ( 2020-07-30 18:51:51 +0200 )edit

Thanks, I'll look for that then. I know I pressed a button that should be pressed knowingly but I think it would be nice if the recovery was saved in the tmp folder so that, as long as your computer hasn't been turned off, you can still find it. Do you know if there's a reason why that's not the case?

ChameleonScales gravatar imageChameleonScales ( 2020-07-30 19:42:01 +0200 )edit
1

It is common practice that security strategies must be fulfilled outside of programs.

Unless there is a program specifically for this purpose.

Here you can get some information:

Preventing data disaster

ebot gravatar imageebot ( 2020-07-31 06:22:07 +0200 )edit