Ask Your Question
0

Reverting to original opened version of document if I haven't quit. [closed]

asked 2013-11-17 15:55:42 +0200

deadpool gravatar image

Hello,

I opened a document and must've at some point accidentally deleted a large portion of it without noticing, and have both gone past the undo limit and saved since then. However, I have not actually left libreoffice. I don't have an automatic or manual backup (I just started the document the other day, but have accomplished a lot). Is there anyway to revert back to the version of the document I originally opened.

Thanks.

edit retag flag offensive reopen merge delete

Closed for the following reason question is not relevant or outdated by Alex Kemp
close date 2015-11-14 16:20:23.732627

1 Answer

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
1

answered 2013-11-18 00:50:59 +0200

oweng gravatar image

Only if you have saved once (or not saved twice since deleting the required content) and have turned on Tools > Options... > Load/Save > General > Save section > Always create backup copy. In this case there should be a copy of the original document under The "Backup" location specified under Tools > Options... > LibreOffice > Paths. This backup file is overwritten on repeated saves, so the first time it will contain the removed content, but a subsequent save will overwrite this.

Bug fdo#47988 is a related enhancement request to get these options turned on by default although the description in it is currently not very clear.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Question Tools

1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2013-11-17 15:55:42 +0200

Seen: 317 times

Last updated: Nov 18 '13