Ask Your Question
0

Black Screen Glitch After Update

asked 2021-01-03 20:30:20 +0200

So I just updated libre office to version 7.0 and this glitch seems to be happening. I have restarted my pc and closed and reopened libre office but it hasn't worked. file:///C:/Users/Logan/OneDrive/Pictures/Screenshots/2021-01-03%20(15).png

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

Comments

Try to run Libreoffice in safe mode from LibreOffice (Safe Mode) start menu entry (Windows)

kimy747 gravatar imagekimy747 ( 2021-01-03 21:27:11 +0200 )edit

1 Answer

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
0

answered 2021-01-07 10:17:24 +0200

Earnest Al gravatar image

I cannot see your screenshot as it is stored on your local Windows machine.

Run LO is Safe Mode as suggested by @kimy747 . If the problem is gone in Safe Mode then try disabling (unticking) Skia in Tools > Options > LibreOffice > View. Restart LO normally and if problem no longer exists then you have solved the issue.

If problem still exists then it might be that your User Profile is corrupted. It might be best to backup user folder so close LO.

In File Explorer (Win+E), in the View tab, tick the box Hidden items.

Navigate to C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\LibreOffice\4 right-click and drag the folder user to a blank space just below and release, click the context menu Copy here and it will create a copy of the user folder in case things go sour. Leave folder open for now

Reopen LO in Safe mode and tick the box Restore from backup > Restore user configuration to the last known working state and press button Apply changes and Restart. If it all works the carry on with using LO like everybody else.

If not then try the button Reset to factory settings > Reset settings and user interface modifications. This should fix most issues. If not the Reset entire user profile will reset everything back to factory settings.

image description

If you did select the entire user profile option then all your autocorrect and templates will have gone. This is why we saved a copy. A new user folder will be created. Drag your data folders back into the new user folder: Autocorrect, Autotext, backup, template, wordbook.

Hope this helps. Cheers, Al

edit flag offensive delete link more
Login/Signup to Answer

Question Tools

1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2021-01-03 20:30:20 +0200

Seen: 73 times

Last updated: Jan 07