Ask Your Question
0

Where is information on installed and uninstalled LibO version stored?

asked 2015-05-15 08:40:35 +0200

ROSt52 gravatar image

updated 2015-08-26 22:07:58 +0200

Alex Kemp gravatar image

kubuntu 14.04

Beside the LibO version LibO of the kubuntu repository I installed, LibO 4.3 and 4.4.

As I observed a problem with Japanese writing I wanted to go back to the kubuntu installations and settings I had before installing LibO 4.3 and 4.4. by reinstalling an image of my root and boot partitions, which was taken just before the installation of LibO 4.3 and 4.4

After reinstalling the root and boot image and double-clicking any LibO files, I get the error message:

KDEInit could not launch 'libreoffice4.4'. Could not find 'libreoffice4.4' executable.

However, right-clicking on any odt-file offers in the context menu Open with the two possibilities:
- LibreOffice4.4 - LibreOfficeWriter ( in case to an ost-file)

Clicking LibreOfficeWriter start LIbO 4.2.8, the current default installation of LibO in the kubuntu repository. (LIbreOffice4.4 results in the same error message.)

To lose the information that there was once a LibO 4.4 version installed, I did the following:
- replaced the user profile
- uninstalled LIbO completely (check each LIbO related package in the package manager and uninstalled it) and reinstalled LibO completely new from the kubuntu repository.

Result: Neither of the counter measure solved the problem.

The problem is only observed with odt-files.

Questions:
- Where is the information stored that a file was once created or edited in a 4.4 version? - How can I delete the information that a file was once created or edited in 4.4 version?

Thanks in advance for your help!

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

2 Answers

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
0

answered 2015-05-15 10:26:10 +0200

karolus gravatar image

updated 2015-05-15 11:12:42 +0200

[[[inside .od# files is no Info about which version of- AO|LO|any_other_App_createing_true_odf_format was used for creation. ]]] False see Answer @pierre-yves samyn

You should always have the choice →rightclick(on_any_file)→open with→→other→...
to set a new default.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

Thanks for the workaround. It works.

However I observed that in "open with > others" there are all 3 version I installed selectable.I am also trying to find the solution sketched by @pierre-yves samyn .

ROSt52 gravatar imageROSt52 ( 2015-05-19 03:36:57 +0200 )edit

Thanks for the workaround. It works.

When opening "open with > others" there are even the 2 additionally installed and un-installed versions to be seen.

I am also trying to find the solution @pierre-yves samyn sketched.

ROSt52 gravatar imageROSt52 ( 2015-05-19 03:41:38 +0200 )edit
0

answered 2015-05-15 10:46:22 +0200

pierre-yves samyn gravatar image

updated 2015-05-15 11:11:14 +0200

Hi

To answer the specific question Where is the information stored that a file was once created or edited in a 4.4 version, the information is included in the meta.xml file (component of the archive files), meta:generator tag.

But this is not where the solution to your problem in my opinion (more related to the integration with Kubuntu-KDE and I can not help you on that, sorry...)

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

Thanks for the answers. At least I learned that I have to go to the kubuntu guys!

ROSt52 gravatar imageROSt52 ( 2015-05-15 15:13:20 +0200 )edit

@pierre-yves samyn - I tried - beside contacting the kubuntu support - to find the "meta.xml" file but could not find it. Could you possibly give me an additional help?

ROSt52 gravatar imageROSt52 ( 2015-05-19 03:52:29 +0200 )edit

@ROSt52 Sorry for not being specific enough.You can find information in these FAQ & FAQ

pierre-yves samyn gravatar imagepierre-yves samyn ( 2015-05-19 08:59:24 +0200 )edit
Login/Signup to Answer

Question Tools

1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2015-05-15 08:40:35 +0200

Seen: 96 times

Last updated: May 16 '15