Ask Your Question
0

Writer: pictures are shown in preview, but not printed

asked 2015-12-11 16:49:28 +0200

this post is marked as community wiki

This post is a wiki. Anyone with karma >75 is welcome to improve it.

In Libre Office Writer the preview of a document does show the pictures in the document, but when printing this document the pictures are not printed.

What to do?

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

4 Answers

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
0

answered 2016-03-11 23:08:53 +0200

Alex Kemp gravatar image

Most likely is the OpenGL bug. See reply to Q64314 for fix.

edit flag offensive delete link more
0

answered 2015-12-18 12:34:43 +0200

Lupp gravatar image

updated 2015-12-30 17:31:56 +0200

Please check the settings in
'Tools' > 'LibreOffice Writer' > 'Print' > 'Contents' and in
'File' > 'Printer Settings...' > 'Options' > 'Content' , too.
The dialogues look similar, but cannot be synchronised due to the difference in the range of applicability.

(Editing:) @Csaba : Did you check your settings for > 'Tools' > 'Options' > 'LibreOffice' > 'View' > 'Graphics Output' ? By default there may be selected 'Use OpenGL for all rendering'. This setting is known to cause problems under some circumstances. You should switch it off, and, of course, the one below, too.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

Yes I checked I started here. Ok. But does not work the image print.

Csaba gravatar imageCsaba ( 2015-12-19 17:40:00 +0200 )edit

Unfortunately, this does not help.

Csaba gravatar imageCsaba ( 2015-12-20 14:27:32 +0200 )edit

I have this problem too and I don't want to use the .pdf workaround. Nor do I want to install an earlier version of LibreOffice.

Wynn gravatar imageWynn ( 2016-01-11 19:16:52 +0200 )edit

There was a lot of whining now. Not one of the complaints contained any useful information to date. Nothing about OS / LibreOffice version / printer / printer_driver; no example document. I personally may not find a solution anyway. Without additional information nobody will.

Lupp gravatar imageLupp ( 2016-01-12 17:48:29 +0200 )edit
0

answered 2015-12-18 05:05:53 +0200

Al Vesper gravatar image

I have the same problem. As a workaround (hopefully a fix will be forthcoming), export your document as a pdf file and print that...

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

That's what I've done.

Csaba gravatar imageCsaba ( 2015-12-19 17:37:05 +0200 )edit
0

answered 2019-05-03 01:04:17 +0200

Outputting to PDF in order to print is not an acceptable workaround.
I do have this additional bit of information: If a document was created in MS Word, and last saved in Word, then OL writer will print the photos as it appears in the preview. If the last save was in OL Writer, it will not print the photo, no matter how minor the change was (ie, a spelling correction.) This is true even if the file is saved in the Word compatible format. My suspicion, therefore, is that this bug has to do with the way OLwriter saves the file with the photo in it, not the way the printer driver tries to print it. If anyone would like to work on this I have hundreds of files that I created in MS Word 2016 that contain photos (my recipe collection). I would be happy to send a couple to somebody who knows how to run a debugger and see what is happening. (By the way, I did check options to be sure that all the right boxes were checked in Writer.)

edit flag offensive delete link more
Login/Signup to Answer

Question Tools

2 followers

Stats

Asked: 2015-12-11 16:49:28 +0200

Seen: 1,868 times

Last updated: May 03