How do I change the default button in a pop-up dialog box?

I’m using the “Merge Cells” command in LibreCalc (LibreOffice 6.0.6.2). The dialog box opens with three choices; the default choice is “Keep the contents of the hidden cells,” but I want the default to be “Move the contents of the hidden cells into the first cell.” I haven’t been able to find documentation on this. Please note that I’m not a programmer; I’m running Ubuntu 16.04 LTS on an older desktop that, to my knowledge, exceeds the LibreOffice minimum system requirements.

Hello,

It would be highly unusual for any system to have a setting to allow a user to change the default value(s) within a dialog box. Dialogs are designed/coded with defaults typically determined by the most likely choice(s) a user will make.

To modify this you would have to dig in LO to first find then modify the actual dialog/code. Even then, once you upgrade to a new version, you’ll need to do that again.

I’m puzzled. When I used “Merge Cells” in Excel, there is no dialog box, and the result is the same as Calc’s “Move the contents of the hidden cells into the first cell.” For users who routinely need a particular result to save time and effort (like me), it would make a lot of sense to allow modification. Why do you say that it’s unusual, Ratslinger?

You may not have understood my answer. This of course has absolutely nothing to do with Excel. In LO the Merge function is done through a Dialog (cells with data). This dialog has three options. One is set to a default. My answer simple states it is ‘highly unusual for any system to have a setting to allow a user to change the default value(s) within a dialog box’. This means having another setting which chooses which of the three is actually the default. That is what you asked in you question.