LO Menu Save icon requires three 'clicks' to save after design edit! Why?

Windows 10, LO 25.8, split HSQLDB

Why must one click the Save button in the Menu bar three (3) times before the save operation finally executes? This is not always the case however, as on rare occasions the save properly executes on the first ‘click’. I suspect it has something to do with the area of the icon on which the mouse pointer is located, but that location is random at best! It is very counter productive to repeat a simple procedure three times, or falsely believe LO document changes have been saved then necessarily return to repeat the unsaved changes! This is not exclusive to my machine as I have over 20 clients that have the same problem!

Mouse problem?

In Base there are several windows that must be saved before saving the final database file (ODB)
This may be because you are editing a table, a query or a form
First you must save the query table or form and then the odb file

Yes that is understood… given that when editing a form in base or entering data in Calc, the changes must be saved, and then the document file must be saved. Both save operations require 3 clicks (most of the time) on the menu Save buttons before the save operation is executed! That means a total of six (6) clicks are necessary to save an edit and then the document file! That is two save operations! This annoying behavior is persistent across all client LO windows 10 or 11 machines! (20+) I sometimes use the ctrl+s key shortcut but the extra time it takes for me to reposition my hands from a relaxed mouse position to the distant keyboard burns a lot more time than just clicking the Save icon 3 or 6 times! Grrr!

Not always required more clicks?
Check/change your mouse.

Where you save that files to? Onto a local disk, or onto a remote storage device (or cloud)? Maybe the response time is too long…

On 20+ windows machines simultaneously?

1 Like

I don’t use a HSQLDB split database but wonder, why you have to press the button for saving at all.
If I only have added/changed data in the database it will be saved automatically. No need to press “Save”.
If I change something of the queries, forms, reports or Basic content and wont to close the Base file I will be asked if I want to save the changed content. Pressed “Save” in the dialog and it would be saved. I could also press “Save” directly and it would work well, but my system here is openSUSE Linux, not Windows…

I also use Firebird database and the odd menu bar Save icon behavior occurs after “Editing” a base or backend object. (not the save dialog) By the way, Firebird and HSQLDB embedded versions suffer the same tendency!
I noticed the ‘help text’ changes after each “failed” click… the initial text is - “Save(Ctl+S)”, then after first failed click - “Save As… (Shft+Ctl+S)”; after second - “Save(Ctl+S)”.
Again, occasionally the Menu bar Save icon saves on first execution. I suspect it has to do with the position of the mouse pointer over the icon, but I am unable to establish a consistent pattern!
As a side note, the Menu bar Save icon in the Basic IDE works as expected.

Also supports automatic saving: 117118 – Firebird: Saving of data should be done automatically, also 157237 – Firebird: Automatic saving of data leads to data loss for all changes after last pressed "Save"
Runs well since LO 24.8
.
Change data, close the Base file, which is connected to internal Firebird. No dialog will appear. File will be closed. Reopen the Base file and notice: Data had been saved.
Same with every external database. Also working with MariaDB and PostgreSQL and external Firebird file.

The issue does not occur when changing data, but only after editing objects in either Base frontend and backend, or embedded firebird or hsqldb.
It is still early, but I may have just remedied this issue in an effort to debug it!

  • Open document (odb). Create simple macro named ‘saveIconIssue’ having msgBox “saved”
  • Attach to the document Customize > ‘Modified status…’ event. Save and close.
  • ReOpen odb to edit an object (disable macros), making real changes to a form. Save the changes and close the form. (Message box prompts)
  • Save and Close the document. (Message box prompts)
  • Reopen and remove the macro from the Customize > ‘Modified status…’ event.
  • When saving odb by Menu Save Icon, notice no repeat clicks needed!

Keeping my fingers crossed…
Have been editing my Base and firebird objects for nearly 2 hours with frequent save operations and have not experienced the nefarious behavior since!