Ask Your Question
0

Has default cursor position changed?

asked 2018-12-08 22:45:26 +0100

watermurf gravatar image

Asked this before, but no response so thought I'd re-phrase.

Been using Libreoffice 6.0.x. In the menu settings under Tools - Options - View - Mouse Positioning - Default Button, the cursor always defaulted to the Save button (as it should). After upgrading to Libreoffice 6.1.x, the same process has the cursor defaulting to the Cancel button.

Is this change by intent or is this a bug?

Seems silly to have the cursor default to Cancel when I'm attempting to close a document that's been modified. It should always default to Save.

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

2 Answers

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
1

answered 2018-12-09 11:09:46 +0100

Mike Kaganski gravatar image

Cancel as default is the most fail-safe choice, thus the most logical default. Pressing Enter in this case neither overwrites data on-disk (which sometimes might be undesirable, when user actually might wish to Save As), nor closes without saving. This is not a bug, and should there be a request to change that, I'd vote there to WONTFIX it.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

Agree, Ack...

Lupp gravatar imageLupp ( 2018-12-09 13:31:29 +0100 )edit
0

answered 2018-12-08 23:15:00 +0100

Lupp gravatar image

updated 2018-12-08 23:17:19 +0100

Quoting @watermurf: "Is this change by intent or is this a bug?"
Sorry, I don't know. If you suspect it to be a bug, or if you simply want to get it changed you should file a bug report to https://bugs.documentfoundation.org.

By the way: Just today I commented on a different post (concerning lost data) in this forum as follows:

If you try to close a modified document you will be prompted concerning a 'Save' with three options.
This moment there's always a little risk to choose the Don't Save option inadvertently due to
-1- distraction or microsleep
-2- the wrong assumption the focus was on another document's frame
-3- having done so a few times in advance for other documents
-4- hitting Alt+D instead Alt+S (The keys for D and S are next to each other.)
-5- being unable to suppress a sneeze
-6- ...?
My way to avoid this is to always order a Save expressliy before I trigger the Close command.
I don't actually know, but: Under specific conditions concerning the system settings or other person's access there may also have occurred an unattended CloseDown/Restart cycle? (I once printed about 1000 sheets of special paper without updated content on a remote printer inadvertently due to one wrong mouseclick. It was a damage of about EUR150.)

edit flag offensive delete link more
Login/Signup to Answer

Question Tools

1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2018-12-08 22:45:26 +0100

Seen: 33 times

Last updated: Dec 09