Ask Your Question
0

Why can't I see a preview of a Word doc in the preview pane using Windows Explorer? Win 7 64bit

asked 2014-07-23 22:14:29 +0200

this post is marked as community wiki

This post is a wiki. Anyone with karma >75 is welcome to improve it.

I must open every single document instead of seeing a preview of the file in the preview pane. this is a pain. I'm about to give up on Libre Office as this is using lots of production time maneuvering files around to only see whats on the doc, not edit it.

I hope there's a plug in for this. I can't find one.

Otherwise, your program suite is a winner!!! Love using it!!!! Thanks.

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

Comments

The question here is related.

oweng gravatar imageoweng ( 2014-07-25 07:50:07 +0200 )edit

1 Answer

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
1

answered 2014-07-24 18:43:47 +0200

horst gravatar image

You can not even preview MSOffice files in Windows Explorer. I use for decades a third party explorer Powerdesk by Avanquest. It is not free but there are free versions of Explorer replacement available that might do the trick.

The only thing you get as preview is a bigger icon with the first page of the document in the lower left corner.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

This is completely untrue. Preview Pane is supported for Microsoft Office file types natively since Office 2007 and through the 2007 compatibiliy pack for Office XP / 2003.

chudesnov gravatar imagechudesnov ( 2016-01-29 12:38:10 +0200 )edit

I have MSOffice 2010 Starter installed. This might be the problem. Lately I got 2013 Full version and now I can preview all files.

horst gravatar imagehorst ( 2016-01-31 19:37:00 +0200 )edit

It's true LO (5.1.0.3 aka 5.1.0 RC3 tested) doesn't preview many other formats, not only Micro$hit. I installed SageThumbs 2.0.0.22 which, at least not without reboot (haven't done yet) doesn't preview Office formats nor many others, although pictures do show up. The library the program uses has a big file arsenal support but if reboot isn't needed it doesn't show *office formats.

rautamiekka gravatar imagerautamiekka ( 2016-01-31 20:03:06 +0200 )edit
Login/Signup to Answer

Question Tools

2 followers

Stats

Asked: 2014-07-23 22:14:29 +0200

Seen: 1,657 times

Last updated: Jul 24 '14