Ask Your Question
2

How does the "always save version when closing" under File -> Versions work? [closed]

asked 2012-03-03 01:09:14 +0100

TJ Meneses gravatar image

updated 2012-10-16 12:55:24 +0100

manj_k gravatar image

I just discovered the versioning feature of LibreOffice, and it sounds amazing. I love the idea of persistent (and trackable) document versions, which is one of the few advantages I see in Google Docs that LO doesn't have.

What I'd like to know is how the auto-versioning option under the Versions dialog box works. The Help page it sends me to when I click on the "Help" button gave me an answer, but when I made changes to my Writer document and closed without saving like it recommends, a new version was not created.

edit retag flag offensive reopen merge delete

Closed for the following reason the question is answered, right answer was accepted by Alex Kemp
close date 2016-02-19 05:58:43.741807

2 Answers

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
1

answered 2012-04-01 01:23:26 +0100

manj_k gravatar image

updated 2012-04-01 01:24:38 +0100

That might be a misunderstanding.

Try as follows:

(1) Create some versions ['Always save a version on closing' enabled].

(2) Now add a new paragraph, save the document manually (button 'Save'), and then close the document.

(3) Open the document, add again a new paragraph, save the document manually (button 'Save'), and then close the document.

(4) Open the document.

(5) Open the last version (File > Version > [select last version] > Open). The last saved version has been before step (2).

Statement in 'Help': "If you save the document manually, do not change the document after saving, and then close, no new version will be created."

To create an additional version: Don't save manually as last step before closing. 'Close', and then 'Save' will always create a new Automatically saved version.

image description

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

@TJ Meneses: Clarified?

manj_k gravatar imagemanj_k ( 2012-04-06 12:27:50 +0100 )edit

Hold on. I'll try to do this when I have the time. Thanks for the comprehensive solution, though!

TJ Meneses gravatar imageTJ Meneses ( 2012-04-07 11:56:28 +0100 )edit

YES! I finally got it to work. But honestly, in my opinion, that is the farthest thing from "automatic" that I would think of. It's grossly unintuitive. At the very least, the Help page should reflect precisely your last paragraph. Anyway, thanks for helping me out.

TJ Meneses gravatar imageTJ Meneses ( 2012-04-20 07:35:03 +0100 )edit
1

answered 2014-02-03 05:59:43 +0100

andy_5995 gravatar image

This is a nice feature. I looked in the options to find if I could apply the "always save a version on closing" to all future documents I created. To turn it on by default, so I don't have to set the option every time I create a new document. However, I didn't see that in the options yet. Thank you.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

manj_k gravatar imagemanj_k ( 2014-02-03 21:03:50 +0100 )edit

Question Tools

1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2012-03-03 01:09:14 +0100

Seen: 2,290 times

Last updated: Feb 03 '14