Base - Execute SQL command

I have been following a Base tutorial where it was possible to paste in multiple SQL statements into the Execute SQL Window separated by semicolon. However I always get an error when I try. The tutorial used version 4.x of LO and the previous SQL engine.

CREATE TABLE “Members” (
“ID” INT GENERATED BY DEFAULT AS IDENTITY PRIMARY KEY,
“FirstName” VARCHAR(20) NOT NULL ,
“LastName” VARCHAR(20) NOT NULL,
“EmailName” VARCHAR(20),
“EmailDomain” VARCHAR(20),
“DateJoined” DATE );

INSERT INTO “Members” (“FirstName”, “LastName”, “EmailName”, “EmailDomain”)
VALUES (‘test’,‘user2’,‘testuser2’,‘soroban.co.uk’);

Error report

1: firebird_sdbc error:
*Dynamic SQL Error
*SQL error code = -104
*Token unknown - line 9, column 1
*INSERT
caused by
‘isc_dsql_prepare’

If I enter these SQL statements one at a time they work.

I am an experienced programmer (55+ years), very experienced with Excel including extensive use of macros, but I am attempting to use a relational database for the first time. This is just to enter my test data so I can work round it but is there a solution?

In my system work fine.

Version: 6.3.6.2
Build ID: 6.3.6-1
CPU threads: 8; OS: Linux 5.6; UI render: default; VCL: gtk3; 
Locale: en-US (en_US.UTF-8); UI-Language: en-US
Calc: threaded

@mauricio,

I agree with your results when using HSQLDB embedded. However, and although not explicitly stated (see error noted), this is a problem using Firebird embedded. As mentioned in the question, this works when each statement is run independently. The possible cause may be something in the SBDC connector. Should be reported on Bugzilla

With Firebird, yes, I get same error, but if execute one by one, work fine.

Bug reported - 132693

To me, it’s not surprising that this does not work in Firebird, but it is surprising that it does work in HSQLDB. The dialog says “Execute SQL Statement”, so how does it send more than one transaction? Or maybe HSQLDB combines it all into a single transaction.