Basic Noobie Python Problem - who took my script! :)

def Hello_there_2Python():
# get the doc from the scripting context which is made available to all scripts
desktop = XSCRIPTCONTEXT.getDesktop()
model = desktop.getCurrentComponent()

# access the active sheet
active_sheet = model.CurrentController.ActiveSheet

# write 'Hello World' in A1
cell = active_sheet.getCellRangeByName("A1")
cell.String = 'Hello World!'

Apologies I am totally new to Python. I use Ubuntu 22.04 as my OS. I have been using LO for many years but never tried running scripts or coding with it.

Py_not_showing_in_LO.pdf (77.6 KB)

Attached you can see that my script is in the file that contains all the Python scrips in LO. I have changed the permission in case that was the problem…but it still does not appear in the LO Calc Macro folder.

Please where am I going wrong?

doc = XSCRIPTCONTEXT.getDocument()
    active_sheet = doc.CurrentController.ActiveSheet

cell = active_sheet["A1"]

https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/Macros/Python_Guide

Thanks for that I will give it a try…though I suspect it is not the only problem I have. When I go Tools>Macros>Organise Macros and click on the Python scripts, the box that appears will not allow any interaction with the scripts…I cannot run, edit etc. Why might that be?

read you the link?

Ooops! sorry, missed the link…was focusing too much on the code! Thank you!

Sorry, I am being very dense here…I do not see in the link any reference to my script not showing up in Tools > Macros > Organise Macros > Python > MyMacros…I seem to be missing a link in my understanding!!

You probably have a syntax error, show your code, exactly as you do.

Install you this file in your OS?

libreoffice-script-provider-python

QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-root'
20-07-2023 14:01:34:  saved file: /usr/lib/libreoffice/share/Scripts/python/Hello_there_2.py (LF)
Stopped our command server.
Request: stopserver
Reply: Stopped the server