Calc macro guides for a novice

Hi all,

I’m not new to programming, but I’m new to LO Basic for Calc. In a nutshell, I would like to build apps like this in LO Calc. I’ve started with different resources to get familiar, but I lack some structured guide to get me through all the basics.

Currently, I struggle with assigning the values of one named range to another and then clear the original range. Can someone suggest a guide that would get me started? For example, I’ve tried help documentation and I can get values from a single cell or write a value, but not for named ranges. I’ve tried the online help but it doesn’t show examples for named ranges.

So my question is twofold:

1. Can anyone suggest a tutorial, maybe by building something more complex?
  2. How would I go about my named range manipulation:
  • assign values from one named range to another
  • clear values of the original named range

Thank you!
seba

Welcome Sebastjan!
This is a good question - it can be answered quickly and briefly, “Look for chapters in Pitonyak’s book that fit the meaning,” or can answer long and in detail, “I use MRI for such purposes, now I’ll show you step by step how it’s done…” and then there is a lot of text and screenshots. Which answer would you prefer?

From our Macro wiki page, you may find our Developer’s guide, which is another good tutorial, having own Spreadsheet related sections, which might interest you.

1 Like

Thank you, I’ve tried now briefly to find the information in Pitonyak’s book and this is what puzzles me about my attempt:

Sub getNamedRangeValues
Dim oRange As Object
oRange = ThisComponent.NamedRanges.getByName("test1")
Print "Named range content: " & oRange.getContent()
End Sub

The above code actually prints to the msg box the sheet name and the range as $B$4:$B$8. I was expecting the actual content. What am I missing? Is the getContent related to the actual cells composing the named range and not to the value of those cells?