System Information:
Linux Mint 21 Cinnamon v5.4.12
Kernel: 5.15.0-117 generic
Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 5600 w/Radeon Graphicsx6
Memory 7.2GB (plus 8 GB swap)
HD: 512 GB
Graphics: AMD Cezanne
LibreOffice ver: 7.3.7

I am new to using Styles. The plethora of defaults is just confusing noise to me, so I would like to make a custom style set. Also, I cannot remember which heading number correlates to which of the styles, and that makes the whole process take up more time than just manually formatting the text.

When I try to set a new custom style, I cannot. In the sidebar, I collapsed the Default Paragraph Style tree, right clicked the empty space, and clicked “New”. I named the new style Textbook v1.0, and it appears under the Default Paragraph Style! Now, it is in that cacophy of noise and unusable. :frowning_face:

I’ve seen some other problems with it too. I set up styles and updated the headings. I wanted to use the styles in multiple documents, so I saved the document under a new name to begin using it on the first document. (picture below shows the first page where I set up the new styles.) When I apply those styles later in the document, it does not maintain the style characteristics. For example, when I clicked Heading 1 – which is supposed to be 28 pt, bold, underlined – it gave me 14 pt bold text.

The first page still has those styles saved, but, when used later, the styles are incorrect (as I described above.) Neither could I update the styles by clicking update style on that first page. I had to clone the formatting of the first page to a later section of the new document and then update the style.

Additionally, using ctrl+F11 does not bring up the new style menu. It simply does nothing.

I’m thoroughly confused now, after spending all afternoon troubleshooting this to no avail.

To use styles and templates first check the dedicated literature for that and avoid trial and error proceedings.