Changing the icon LO assigns to Word/Writer documents

Hello. I’m new to LO (as in a couple of days ago). Upon installation, I note that all of my previous (MS Word) docs have been assigned your LO icon. I have no issue with that in principle, other than your icon’s native blue colour is difficult to see against my blue screen background. And, yes, I know I can easily change the desktop background (Windows 10), but it’s something I prefer not to do.

Is there a way to assign a different icon to the various document files? I’m not talking about the icon for the main LO program, only the text files I create and/or have currently.

Any and all advice welcomed.

This page tells you how to use Windows to assign file types to a program; it doesn’t have to be to LibreOffice, Assign files to LibreOffice - The Document Foundation Wiki

1 Like

And this also can help:

My Transition from MS-Office to LibreOffice

Hello @Hrbrgr,

My thanks for the speedy response. Thanks, also, for the link regarding transition from MS Word to LO. Unfortunately, that doesn’t address my query. I have no problem with the transition and have already created various templates and styles that I need for my writing/publishing tasks. The issue is simply the icon. It’s blue and difficult to see. If there’s a simple way to ‘swap’ or ‘add’ an icon of my own choice, then great, that’s all I need. But if that isn’t possible for whatever reason, then I’ll just have to live with it.

Thus far I’m impressed with the software and while there a few aspects that I will need to personalise, I offer my thanks to people such as yourselves for making the package available.

With kind regards,

F J Shindler.

Well, I’m just a user like you, but I work with LibreOffice as a volunteer, so your thanks go to everyone.

The above link from @EarnestAl shows the possible function. The symbols of the files indicate the assignment to the program(!).