Comparison ViewCursor and TextCursor

As a VBA programmer, I was having a bit of difficulty understanding the concepts of ViewCursor and TextCursor in LibreOffice object model. So I asked ChatGPT Code Copilot to compare the two. I would be very grateful if some knowledgeable person could have a look at the answer and tell me if it’s more or less accurate.

In the LibreOffice Writer object model, ViewCursor and TextCursor are both used to navigate and manipulate text, but they serve different purposes and have distinct characteristics:

ViewCursor

• Purpose: The ViewCursor represents the position of the visible cursor in the document as seen by the user. It is tied to the user interface and reflects the user’s current position in the document.
  • Usage: It is used for tasks that require interaction with the visible part of the document, such as moving the cursor to a specific location that the user can see or selecting text that the user has highlighted.
  • Scope: The ViewCursor is specific to the view controller of the document. It is part of the view and not the underlying text content.
  • Example: Moving the visible cursor to the end of the document:
    Dim oDoc As Object
    Dim oViewCursor As Object
    oDoc = ThisComponent
    oViewCursor = oDoc.CurrentController.ViewCursor
    oViewCursor.gotoEnd(False)

TextCursor

• Purpose: The TextCursor is used for navigating and manipulating the text content within the document. It operates on the underlying text, independent of the user interface.
  • Usage: It is used for tasks like inserting, deleting, or formatting text within the document. It can navigate through the text content and perform operations that affect the document’s text structure.
  • Scope: The TextCursor operates on the Text object of the document. It is not tied to the visible cursor or the user interface.
  • Example: Inserting text at the end of the document:
    Dim oDoc As Object
    Dim oText As Object
    Dim oTextCursor As Object