Compiling LibreOffice for Visual Studio

I would like to compile LibreOffice in Visual Studio for use as a Visual Studio project. I want to be able to put LO Text in a WPF application and then be able to drag and drop to/from LO to other portions of my WPF project…

I am new to LO. I see it is written in C++. How do I compile the code is Visual Studio using their tools? Can it be done?

Clarification: I need to compile using the Microsoft C++ Compiler. The Cygwin/Gnu solution won’t work because it’s not compatible with a WPF project.

libreoffice-writer
Compile

You should tag this as Common, or Compile. That will attract the right set of people to answer your question.

https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/Development/How_to_build

This solution will not work. I need to compile using the Microsoft C++ Compiler.

From the cited link:

The LibreOffice build system can generate project files for some IDEs including – thanks to Honza Havlíček’s excellent work – Microsoft Visual Studio: (note that this does not allow a full build so you still need to use Cygwin to do full builds

You will try to integrate a quite big bunch of source under a wpf-project. As portable software will often do things not the MS/wpf-way this sounds like a lot of work. But as I read youd question you don’t have to do a full build…
I wont go in this direction and as I was told yesterday just to answer peoples questions I will not give other suggestions… You will know why you’ve chosen this way.

Yeah, I saw that and do not agree. Answer the question but if you have further or possibly better advice, offer that also. :slight_smile:

Note that LibreOffice uses the Microsoft compiler (and linker) when built on Windows. You likely are confusing compiler and toolchain.

Also, there is no way to use LibreOffice as a library. But anyway, the proper place to discuss development is the corresponding channel.

Can you share the scripts and methodologies used for compiling for windows.