Content of my document has disappeared

I started using LIbreOffice about 2 weeks ago.

For the last 3 days I have been writing a document, saving it frequently. Today I wanted to continue working on the document. I opened LibreOffice and saw, under “Recent Document”, my saved document (first page, small size). I clicked on it to open it.
What happened next was shocking: the document DID open-yet it was TOTALLY EMPTY! All of its content-17 pages or so–disappeared! I checked the Recycle Bin, but since it was the content of the document that got deleted, NOT the document itself, it was not there. I performed various searches of my files, hoping that a backup copy of the document is somewhere else, but unfortunately, I can’t find it.

I’ve been using MS Office before since the very early 1990s and whereas on rare occasions I did lose files or they became corrupted, it was the first time in my life that suddenly the whole content of the document vanished!!!

I don’t think that anybody can help me to recover the document-yet I’d love to know HOW this problems occured? Subsequently I created some fake documents and tried to replicate this issue, yet could not.

I’d appreciate any comments.

Regards,

Jack

My tips (for the future work):

• Never work on a removable media directly.
  • Always use the native, international standard ODF file formats.
  • Always save more than one backup copy of your important documents with different (timestamped) names.

Can you upload the “empty” file here?

Sorry to hear that, specially so early on. I can reassure you it hasn’t happened to me in the last 20 or more years except through hard drive failure. I did notice some weirdness in Windows this week when there was an unexpected update; restarting Windows solved that.

Where did you save your document to? USB drive? Cloud? Local drive?