Corrupted data in heavily commented document.

(Windows 10 Home, LibreOffice 6.3.5, currently supposedly-stable version)

When I try to open my document, I get an error:

“SAXException: No input source”

It asks if I would like it to open the document, and warns of danger that the file will be further corrupted if I do. Refusing gets me more information:

File format error found at
SAXParseException: “No input source”
SAXParseException: ‘[word/footnotes.xml line 2]: unknown error’, Stream ‘word/footnotes.xml’, Line 2, Column 28112
SAXParseException: ‘[word/document.xml line 2]: unknown error’, Stream ‘word/document.xml’, Line 2, Column 31535(row,col).

I am a professional editor, and I would really like to know whether my last several weeks of work have just been slagged. The document worked fine last time I closed it. Opening it, I see that many of my comments have had their content, author and date information deleted (most or all of which apply to footnotes; all comments applying to footnotes seem to have been affected); most seem to still be fine, but the program crashes fairly shortly after I load the document, and I can’t copy-paste out (initially it copy-pasted with no comments, which doesn’t help, since I have a backup of the plain text; now it won’t do so at all). Advice? I have been using Open- or LibreOffice for this purpose for the past several years, and this is the first time I’ve had this problem.