Data Base Field Duplicate shortcut key

I am new to Libre Office and am entering data into the database which will sometimes require the fields to be duplicated. Is there a shortcut key I can use for a field dup?

+1 Good Q. I’ve given you enough points so that now you can attach images to your questions.

Hello,

Aside from the standard Copy/Paste method, you would need to write macros specific to your needs. Especially for someone “new” this is quite difficult.

For a sampling of this, you can download the sample from my answer in this post → base auto populate new record. Personally don’t think this is good practice.

Edit:

Just remembered another macro; see link in this post → Base: Anyone have a Ctrl-tick macro to quickly copy from field above?

If I’m understanding the question right, there is a way to quickly duplicate a table row record when in table view (or when a table control is used within a form)…

As long as you have an autonumber primary key field set up, things should work as you would expect. I was excited to see this feature, mostly by accident a while back.

Oh, I see… field duplicated, not record. My answer is probably for a different situation. When I’m designing forms, I like to drag an existing control and its label, and after dragging for a second, add CTRL to the drag, and a duplicate field is made. If you hold down SHIFT as well, the field will line up vertically or horizontally with the position of the original field, which is cool. Still maybe not the answer you were looking for, but maybe helpful to other beginners.

I thought there would be a simple answer to this question. i.e. MS Access uses the CTRL key with the key beside the central enter key " ’

There are a number of differences between Base and Access - this is one.

You’re not the first one to ask this question.

Here is the code I use to do this.