DDE ERROR CODE N/A

Hi back again about the DDE

the formula works on my test files. But it doesn’t seem to work on the many real data files I have.

Screen shot 8 is the dialog box for the formula that displays an N/A error code. I can’t find this code in the list of Version 7 error codes.

When I do a straight link with the following formula I get a returned value – the one I am looking for.
=‘file:///C:/Users/ralph/Documents/TAX FILES/TAX BEYOND DISTRIB.xlsx’#$‘2025’.J40

When I use the DDE formula I get an N/A
=DDE(“soffice”,“C:/Users/ralph/Documents/TAX FILES/TAX BEYOND DISTRIB.xlsx”,“2025.J40”,0)

Any ideas what I have messed up?
thanks in advance - remember i am a real novice so specifics will help me.

C:\fakepath\Screenshot (8).png

Hard to tell, when the content of cell 2025.J40 in your DDE source file is not known. If 2025.J40 is an empty cell, you get #N/A (Not Available, No Answer), since the result of DDE is “nothing”.

the cell is not empty. i can’t figure out how to add a screen shot to the comments but j40 has a numeric value. the surrounding cells in other columns and rows have values and the same N/A comes back even if I change j40 to another row or column.

i can’t figure out how to add a screen shot to the comments

Use edit of your original question and mark as Update or something like that. But I believe your statement so I don’t think that a screenshot would shed more light on your issue.

Did you try to paste C:/Users/ralph/Documents/TAX FILES/TAX BEYOND DISTRIB.xlsx into location bar of your File Explorer and does this open the file using LibreOffice?

I used several other functions to see if the value I want to retrieve is blank. Isblank shows a value in the cell…i used “if function” to retrieve the value, both show there is a value. three parameters - file name - item range Mode. if the file name was incorrect, i’d get an X in the dialogue box, range name ???, Mode??