Difficulty in how to use Shell Function on Linux

Hi!

I created (and still developing) a calc file to print any file in batch. From those files I get some info, like Author’s name and title. And works well for most file types.

However, I had some problems with pdf files, if the file is not hybrid or native from LO. So, I think I could use Shell Function to solve this problem, calling the specific Printer Driver or Name.exe
I found something that could help on this topic.

To sum up, I tried to run something like the above example code.

Sub ShellTest()
On Error GoTo eHandler
    sFileFullPath = ConvertToUrl(/home/USERNAME/Documents/test.pdf)
    Shell ( "/usr/bin/evince " & sFileFullPath )

eHandler:
    MsgBox Err " - " Error
End Sub

Meanwhile, is not working as I expected.
Since I am new to the Linux environment, I think it may be something simple, but I couldn’t find the solution by myself.
So, my questions are:

1. Someone could help pointing what exactly I’m missing with the function ?
  2. There is a way to use Shell Function to print a .pdf (or any other file type) instead of use Print Method ?
  3. If so, how can I do that using cups-pdf, e.g ?
    Version: 7.3.4.2 / LibreOffice Community
    Build ID: 8cb1c265a8f71ce63e37a2ff337b4f2ebc525cbc
    CPU threads: 4; OS: Linux 5.13; UI render: default; VCL: gtk3
    Locale: pt-BR (pt_BR.UTF-8); UI: pt-BR
    Calc: threaded
    –EDIT–

In a nutshell, I need to make the command line below works on Ubuntu 20.04.4 LTS, passing by Shell Function in LibreOffice.

Shell ("lpr " & sFullFilePath)

Vie shell() you execute a traditional command-line, so you can do anything what you can do in a terminal.

lp example.pdf

What does that mean exactly? An error? An unexpected result - which? Nothing at all?

By the way, does evince expect URLs? (I.e., why do you need to use the ConvertToUrl to prepare its argument?)