Guidance for newbie on summarizing data in Calc: pivot table or custom macros?

I am a newbie to Calc but I do have experience with VBA, albeit specific to MS Access only. I don’t have much experience with Excel either. Anyways, I am looking to avoid going down a blind alley if there is an obvious solution to my problem.

I am using Calc to track my nutrition. I have created 3 sheets in a Calc document. The first tracks data for foodstuffs, like so:

Note the units of measurement are grams/ounce.

The second is where I log what I eat, with the date, foodstuff and amount in ounces. I have already set it such that I can only enter foodstuffs that have a corresponding entry in the first sheet:

Day Food Amount
08/29/21 Oats 1.5
08/29/21 Yogurt 3.5
08/29/21 Peach 5.3
08/29/21 Ham 1
08/30/21 Milk 8

Now, I want a third sheet that summarizes the calories, proteins, etc by date. The way I would imagine doing this would be to loop through every row in sheet 2, then look up the nutritional info for the foodstuff within sheet #1 ,and then calculate the total calories,fat,protein, and carbs for that row.

For example, if I ate 3.5 oz of Yogurt on 8/29/21, that would be 3.5g protein, 4.9g carbs, 3.5g fat, and 65.1 calories. Now, I do this for every row and then aggregate by date, such that the third sheet has rows headers like so:

Calculated Totals
Date Calories Protein Fat Carbs

To sum up, I see the following that tasks that need to be automated:

(1) look up foodstuff
(2) calculate nutrition per amount of foodstuff
(3) aggregate calculations per day (or week, month…)