How do I include results from only a certain month in Base?

I’m sorry if this has already been answered or if this is the wrong place to ask it, but I’ve done some searching and had no luck.

I’m new to SQL/Databases but I’m trying to generate a query to calculate changes to my budget in LibreOffice Base. Right now I’m tracking changes to my income like below:
chart

I have an SQL query set up via the LibreOffice editor to show the total amount I earned/lost and the reason for it below:
result

Now I’d like to be able to filter it by month (e.g. all changes from December but none from any other month). How do I go about doing that?

The raw SQL code I’ve got so far is:

SELECT “ChangeReason” AS “Change Reason”, SUM( “ChangeAmount” ) AS “Total Change” FROM “Dummy Budget” GROUP BY “ChangeReason”

However I am using the “edit” function, and my changes to it are here:

code screenshot

**UPDATE:

Thanks for the answer @Ratslinger, however, I’ve entered the changes but I’m only getting an error. It’s probably that I’m very new to SQL and messed something up, so if you could explain what I’m doing wrong that’d be great.

Hello,

This is a common question. The result can be gotten in many ways but the most practical is by use of selection parameters. These are specific data used for comparison purposes and begin with the colon :. When the query is run and a parameter is detected the user is prompted for input. In the following statement I used two: one for a starting date anf one for an ending date. This allows you flexibility on what to choose each execution.

SELECT "ChangeReason" AS "Change Reason",
       SUM("ChangeAmount") AS "Total Change"
FROM (Select "ChangeReason", "ChangeAmount", "Date" from "Dummy Budget" Where "Date" >= :Begin_Date and "Date" <= :Ending_Date)
GROUP BY "ChangeReason"