I am about to upgrade my Windows OS, and all information on the C: drive will be wiped. Is it enough to save the folder with the templates in it and restore it after reinstalling LO? Or are there nasties hiding in the woodwork?
To preserve template data, all you need is to save the folder(s) where your templates are saved.
As far as I know, the only thing you need to do to activate the templates on a new install (available by
File - New - from template) is to copy them into the templates folder. You may need to re-register them, but I believe that is taken care of by a refresh in the templates dialog.
Thanks - I’ll try it out - probably next week. I remember that many years ago when I bought a new machine I had some trouble getting my custom templates to work, but I guess they’ve sorted it out since then.