How to crop image in Writer 7 to a shape?

I’m using Writer, Version 7.1.3.2 and I like to change the shape of an image, such as a photo, to a shape like circle or rounded edge rectangle. I’ve tried to find an answer, but so far no success. Can anyone help?

Can this help?

[Draw Ellipse and Insert Picture](https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/Videos/Insert_and_edit_images_in_Writer_Part_2#Draw_Ellipse_and_Insert_Picture)

Of course, it also works with other shapes.

I think @Hrbrgr that you could post that as the answer. Cheers, Al

I tried clicking on the circle, kept it selected in the doc, clicked on image while on the circle, picked one, but it did not work. I am a bit of a newbie on Libre so perhaps I’m missing something here. Thanks for any help.

See my completed answer.

Everything that has to do with images and shapes should work at least as well or better in Draw.

This may be strange but I did the exact same steps in Draw and it did not work; tried multiple times even starting a new draw doc but it still didn’t work. I’d appreciate it if you try yourself and let me know–maybe I missed something but, again, the steps worked in Writer exactly as you indicated.

Yes, you are right, in Draw it works a little differently.

Leave the circle selected.

Go to Properties in the sidebar (Ctrl+F5).

For Surface select “Bitmap” and click “Import”.

Select your image and click “Open”.

Good luck!

Thank you, but on my MacBook, there no “F5” but I did find “properties.” Could not locate anything that said “Surface,” though or “Bitmap.” I think the language on the insert is German, but believe to the left of “important” is the picture location (once I get that far)? Would you mind terribly elaborating a bit more? It is version 7.1.3.2 and Apple if that matters? Thanks again.

@DJsOak the heading under Properties, Flache is Area, Importieren is Import in English LO