How to find LAST record in each Group, in a Table, using a Query?

I’ve spent several days working on this without success!

I have a table call “MARKET_PRICE”.
The fields in this table are “PriceKEY”, “StockAbbrev”, “QuoteDate”, and “Price”. PriceKey is automatically generated.

For each StockAbbrev, there are several records with various QuoteDates and associated Prices. (stockmarket quotations over several days).

I’m trying to extract the latest QuoteDate (& Price) for each StockAbbrev, using a Query.

I sought help on ChatGPT and GoPilot (AI’s) who made several suggestions, but I couldn’t get any to work. Perhaps some limits with Base’s SQL??

There should be an easy solution, as I expect this is a very common requirement by users (getting FIRST or LAST record in a set).

I appreciate any help (I’m new to Base and SQL). SQL is so unforgiving, and the error messages are totally useless (“Syntax error” doesn’t help much when it doesn’t tell you where that error is!).

I’m using LibreOffice 24.8.2.1 on an iMac with MacOS 13.7 (Ventura).

As you don’t tell what you tried this is hard to find out. But actually Base has no own SQL. Base can connect to several datasources and allow you sql-queries. If your database is of types text or dBase, features are very limited.
LibreOffice brings two (embedded) databases HSQLDB and Firebird, with slightly different SQL, but you may also connect to Postgres, MySQL/MariaDB.
So your solution needs to fit your used database.

Not everything common is easy, but you may start reading at the following link. (No AI, just another website, accessible for google. Found with “sql query last record in group by latest” - the second half suggested by google itself.)

Think again. SQL is totally forgiving. You are always allowed a next try. “It” will never complain, even if you try the same again…

https://ask.libreoffice.org/uploads/short-url/lavNozIoLu1ZbFJvOSvzZGqu2wl.odb

@FrankF,
the appropriate sql will depend on the engine you use.