How to install downloaded dictionary file on LO

Hi,

Sorry, I am quite new to LO and can’t find the instruction under installation. I have a question after downloading dictionary file “libreoffice-dictionaries-4.4.4.3.tar.xz”, where is the destination to unzip them for LO on Windows OS?

Thanks.

You have downloaded the ‘source-code’ for a dictionary. I’m going to advise you to get a dictionary-extension instead. It is so much easier, and you do not need to be concerned about the location. However, if you insist on searching, dictionaries have a ‘.dic’ suffix.

Added later:

The following are OXT files. As long as your OS has it’s App-directory correctly installed & updated [intentional xref] you should be able to d/click on the oxt-file & have LO/OO launched ready at the Extension Manager dialog [steps 9-12]. However, none of this paragraph negates the steps below, as it always helps to know the full, manual process.

The original Response:

1. Information on installing an extra dictionary:
    Frequently asked questions - General - The Document Foundation Wiki
  2. Official HowTo (PDF):
    http://www.libreoffice.org/assets/Uploads/EN_Documents/Installingextensions.pdf
  3. Get the dictionary:
    http://extensions.libreoffice.org/extension-center?getCategories=Dictionary
  4. Check the Extension suffix:

Save the files somewhere memorable.

Extensions have an ‘.oxt’ suffix. Make sure that you can see this suffix from a file explorer, and change the Explorer properties if not (else suffer grief later).
  5. Open LO/OO & go:

Menu:-Tools | Extension Manager...

6. In the Dialog click Add...

Extension Manager dialog

7. In the File Browser that opens navigate to your dictionary files

File Browser

8. Select & click Open
  9. The dialogs can now vary. If that extension is already installed, you are asked OK (replace it) or Cancel

Already-installed dialog

10. Only for you|For all users|Cancel ?

all users?