How to remove paragraph direct formatting (only) from a document? (Writer)

Hi!

In LibreOffice Writer, how do you remove all direct paragraph formatting in a document while respecting direct character formatting?

If I place the cursor in a paragraph, without selecting anything, and hit Ctrl-M, the paragraph formatting returns to that of the paragraph’s style (e.g. if somebody made it centered manually but the style says left-aligned, it will become left-aligned). That’s the behavior I want.

But if I try to do that to many paragraphs at a time, I have to select them, and then all character formats disappear. E.g. if I write:

“Let v be a vector and f be a function…”

I get

“Let v be a vector and f be a function…”

I’d like bold v and italics f to be respected.

Thank you in advance! (I’m new to LibreOffice.)

AFAIK, you can’t because attributes you can directly set can be stored both in paragraph and character formatting.

Remember that direct formatting is just another layer of styles: kind of anonymous style category. The ordering of the layers are (from deepest to shallowest):

• paragraph style
  • character style
  • direct formatting

Command Format>Clear Direct Formatting wipes out the direct layer without consideration for attribute destination (whether it is rather paragraph or character oriented).

The behaviour you experienced is quite “logical” in this context: when nothing is selected (cursor just put somewhere), Writer only sees the paragraph (and position character settings); therefore it removes paragraph modifications. When the selection contains a run of characters (which is the case when you selected several paragraphs), Writer sees both paragraph and character formatting, thus wipes both.