how to unlink left and right columns in a two column document template.

Hello - I am a newbie moving to open source LibreWriter. I have a simple template I try to create. It all works except one crucial problem. In the left column I will add one style of text (Pull Quotes) and als insert photos. In the right column I will copy in in a style different than in the left colum the body text. I cannot figure out how to unlink the left and right columns so that adding quotes and images to the left column does not affect the body text in the right column (and visa versa). Help. I have a deadline sort of for a proposal for an art project and cannot figure out the solution to my layout problem allowing the left column to afect onl the left column, and the right column only affecting the right column. I really appreciate any help on this. The art project is collaborative and my collaborators are even less computer literate than me. Stay healthy everyone! Libre rocks and I hope I can stick with this as Microoft is not my politics, the concept of Libre is much closer to my heart and I would feel better working with it. Thanks, Danke, Merci… Philip

If you just need short text and figures in the left column, set the page style with just one column but a huge left margin and then anchor to the body text frames without borders and fill them with the content you need.

Thank you, ingenious. I will give it a try. Stay healthy!

If I understand correctly, you have a main text occupying the right part of a page. This text is common text, meaning it start from the top, flows downwards and when reaching the bottom of the page should continue on the right part of the next page.

In the left space left by text you’d like to insert “decorations”, either photos or marginal notes.