I cannot change the language of a document in Writer

I am in Spain but writing in English, and the document language keeps resetting to “Spanish (Spain)”. I need to be able to use English (UK and US) and sometimes I do write in Spanish, but I would be fine with none at all.

I’ve tried changing it, and the best case scenario is that it changes back after I type the next word. Often nothing at all happens. I am not someone who can go into the code and make changes, and I’m new to LibreOffice, so I’m wondering if maybe LibreOffice is not for people who can’t change the code themselves. I’m skilled with MS Word so I’ve tried everything that resembles their interface, but nothing is working.

If anyone can help I’d really appreciate it!
Thanks.

When you say you have changed the language, have you used

menu Tools → Options → Language Settings,

and changed both the “Language of” and the “Default Language” ? Or did you use

menu Tools → Language,

and change one or several of the options there?

I used the latter, because in the former (Tools->Options->Language Settings) Spanish doesn’t appear as one of the available languages. I also tried just clicking on the bottom of the screen where it says “Text Language.”

changes back after I type the next word

That’s the reason. Just switch to the desired language.