When I try to delete the text I am changing it is highlighted in orange, and when I pass the cursor over it, a box pops up saying Deleted: Unknown Author with the date and time. I am the author just trying to edit! It is a draft and I did not make it read only, nor do I know how to do that.
It looks like you enabled the change tracking feature. Disable it by pressing Shift + Ctrl + E.