I do not find the menu bar

I am new to the LO fork, although I have been using Open Office for almost 20 years.

I have LO 7.0 in Linux (PCLinuxOS)

I do not find the menu bar across the tops of the windows (File View Edit Tools… etc) in either Writer or Calc. There are just the two toolbars. It was present in earlier versions that I’ve now overwritten.

Don’t tell me Tools>Options etc as I cannot access Tools!

???

This may be caused by a discrepancy between the widget handling driver and the widget used by your desktop.

Open a terminal and type SAL_USE_VCLPLUGIN=gen soffice --writer with the exact casing shown. Sometimes the binary is named soffice.bin; it depends on the distros.

Do you get the menu bar?

If so edit your question to tell which desktop you installed (there are many, KDE Plasma, GNOME, MATE, LXDE and Xfce are the more frequent). Check also which widget handling packages are installed. I know of libreoffice-gtk3 for GNOME, MATE and derivatives, libreoffice-kf5 for KDE, libreoffice-x11 (is a generic one, UI quality is poor but works everywhere). The names are for Fedora distro and may vary.

By the way, you can access Options by pressing Alt+F12. Tested with LibreOffice 6.4.7.2 (x86); OS: Windows 6.1.

1 Like

Works also under Linux

Sometimes the binary is named soffice.bin

The binary is always soffice.bin; however, there’s also a soffice and/or libreoffice wrapper script (and maybe some symbolic links under different names) that should be invoked instead, which set a runtime environment. The soffice.bin should not be invoked directly.

@erAck: thanks for the info

You may have unwillingly changed the GUI mode for a rather experimental one mimicking M$ Ribbon.

See if you have in rightmost position of second toolbar a menu with name Menu or View. Both Menu and View have a check box for Menubar.

In the tabbed modes, click on the View tab and this will bring a Menubar button in the lower toolbar.