I want to enter a product code, but it converts to currency, how do I stop that?

Hi!

I’m from South Africa, our currency is Rands, e.g. R150.50.
A few of our products have the suffix ‘R’, e.g. 22R, 212R, etc. When I enter ‘22R’ into a cell it automatically converts it to currency as, R22.00. If I then click the Currency button it changes it to simply, ‘22’. No ‘R’. (Also, instead of a ‘.’ separator, ‘R22.00’ as per my system settings, it uses a ‘,’ ‘R22,00’)

I’m sure I’m missing a simple step here, I have looked through the options, tried turning off AutoInput, etc. I’ll admit, I’m fairly new to LO, I’ve used it for a little over a month now. As a side note, the program could be a little more idiot proof (me proof). It took me until yesterday to learn how to stop ‘-’ automatically becoming a long dash.

While I’m here, as I think the following issue is similar; if I enter the date as 2022/06/14 it auto’s to 2022-06-14. How do I set ‘/’ separator as default?

I need these settings to be default.

Thanks
James.

Re the decimal separator, South Africa officially uses the comma as the separator, see Decimal separator - Wikipedia . LibreOffice looks at your locale and uses the correct separator. As Mike Kaganski wrote you need to change your locale.

Can I make a plea for you not to confuse another date format? YYYY-MM-DD is ISO 8601 and is well interpreted by spreadsheets; other formats come with interoperability issues.

I had my terminology incorrect in the OP, when I said separator, I meant decimal symbol (I hope I have it right now).

Shucks, so you’re suggesting I give up my preferred slashes for dashes? :astonished:

I used Excel for years and I never had these issues. The one that bothers me most is what got me to post. I understand R22 converting to currency, but not 22R.

Just format your cells (whole column?) as Text prior to entering the data. You might want to use a dedicated cell style for that.