I currently run LibreOffice 3.5.3, and I want to upgrade to 3.6.1. If I download and install 3.6, will my templates, settings, etc. be kept? I know they were kept when I updated within the 3.5 family, but I don’t know if they are kept from version to version. Thanks for any help!
Yes, your settings will be kept.
Some migration problems have been reported in → Bug 52022 - CONFIGURATION: Part of data in userdir is lost on 3.5 → 3.6 upgrade
(first of all for the upgrade 3.5.x → 22.214.171.124), hopefully fixed now in the recent version 126.96.36.199.
Best would be to create always a backup of your current LibreOffice user profile (e.g.: with regard to ‘My Macros’); so you can easily reinsert the reset customizations (if necessary).