Is Impress the Wrong Program to Make Storybooks?

System is currently running Widows 10 (due to BIOS support issues.) AMD Ryzen 5 2500U, Radeon Vega Mobile 2000 Mhz; 8GB RAM

Using LO 7.1.2

I’ve been using presentation apps for a few years to create stories for teaching. I started with G Slides & upgraded to LO Impress last year. The stories are like illustrated story books and are semi-animated, but I seem to have hit the limit of what I can do even with Impress. For graphic elements in the stories, I use vector images (svg), Fontwork, and gif’s with an occasional embedded video. Text is also animated to appear, and may do so by the word or letter depending on student level. It has worked great, though, because I can give students a little bit of information to focus and work with at a time and can set it up to repeat animations to emphasize actions, etc.

The latest project is very graphic heavy. It was around 100 graphic elements and 150 animations per slide when I switched from G Slides. I am running into a lot of issues including lagging, hanging for extended periods while saving, and frequent crashes with Impress, and I’m only using about 20 animations per slide at the moment.

I reduced the Undo function from 100 actions to 20, as recommended in another post here. I also changed the priority (through Task Manager) from normal to high. Both of those helped, but have not ended the crashes and lags.

-Not trying to demean Impress here. I do like the program but think I may have hit the physical limits of the program. I like how I can put these learning stories together with a minimum of hassle.

Is there a way to fix this, or have I hit the limit on Impress’s abilities?