language extension limited to one document

I downloaded & installed a Spanish dictionary. It works fine in the document that was open at the time of installation. It shows in the list of installed extensions. But, if I open another document (old or new/blank) Spanish doesn’t appear in the list of language choices. I see only the defaults of “English” and “unknown”.

I rebuilt the user profile - still a problem.
I tried downloading & re-installing the dictionary - it crashes the program.
I tried disabling & re-enabling the extension - still didn’t work. when I went back to try it a second time, it crashed (yet again).

LibreOffice 3.4.5
OOO340m1 (Build:1505)
running on Linux, OpenSuse 11.4

  • Please refer to a download link (for checking the extension dictionary). LibreOffice Extensions: → Spanish dictionary 1.0?

  • The extension has been installed via Extension Manger > Add…?

  • Installed for user (Only for me) or shared (For all users)?

  • Spanish doesn’t appear in what list of language choices?


I have checked the aboved mentioned dictionary with LibreOffice 3.4.6 [OOO340m1 (Build:602)], on WinXP.

  • Extension Manager > Add… > spanish-dictionary.oxt > “Only for me”
  • Installed as “Español (España y América Latina): Ortogafía, separación y sinónimos 0.5 [rla-es]”
  • Restarted LibreOffice
  • Opened some *.odt, text language Spanish (Spain)
  • Applied Spelling and Grammar (F7), and AutoSpellcheck (context menu)
  • Uninstalled and reinstalled the extension
  • Result: that extension dictionary works fine for me