Libreoffice Base File Selection Control

Good day everyone,

I have a LO Base form where I have a text box that is bound to a field in a table. What I would like to do is use the “File Selection” control, choose a text file using that control, and have the contents of the text file “upload” (if you will) to the text box in the form (and the data will save to the field the text box is bound to in the table).

I have some experience in using macros, however, I am not sure if this is possible, or at least possible using the file selection control. Is there any way that I can achieve this, even though the file selection control may not be the way to go?

Thank you. I truly appreciate any help that you may provide.

Hello,

It is likely this can be done. However you do not give much information as to the database you are using, the actual field type/size (text can vary greatly), the file content type (plain text, formatted, etc).

Please add this with a comment or edit original question. Always helpful if you provide specific LibreOffice version and OS.

Hi,

Thank you for getting back to me. I hope the following information can be helpful.

The OS is Ubuntu 18.04. LibreOffice version is 7.0.1.2.

I am using LibreOffice Base and the database is saved to my computer locally. It is not saved to a server.

The form control that I want to “upload” the text to is a text box that is mapped to a data field in a table. The table’s data field is named “fld_Notes” and it is a text (VARCHAR) field with a 5000 character maximum.

The text files that I want to “upload” for each record are all plain text, no formatting, and are +/- 1500 characters per file.

Please let me know if this helps.

Hello,

Thank you for the response. It may not matter, but you did not provide the database you are using. Educated guess is that this is HSQLDB embedded.

Have done file reading in past and mainly got (and still often get) code samples from Pitonyak’s document → OOME or AndrewBase