LibreOffice Impress not always saving

Hi guys,
I’ve been using LibreOffice for several years now and really enjoy using it. Recently however I have been using Impress for the first time, and while I honestly prefer it to MS Powerpoint that I am compelled to use at work, I have one issue with it. The first time this happened I thought I had neglected to save, but now can confirm this is definitely not the case.

Almost always, when I save, my Impress presentation saves just fine. However when I went back to one of my older slides, I see that the wording in the slide was incomplete (IE the end of the last sentence was truncated). I completed the sentence, and re-saved. However when I open the document, it’s back again, truncated. The only work around I found was to duplicate the slide, update the new copy, and then delete the old slide! Now it saves just fine. I thought this had solved my issue, but now I see the problem is popping up in another slide that historically was saving just fine!

I’m now concerned that I will end up losing chunks of valuable work in my presentation. Is there something I’m missing or doing wrong? Is this a known bug (I looked online but can only find similar issues with much older posts dating back to 2013/14)

The problem is repeatable, and when I find the problem, I can complete the sentence in the slide, save (and it definitely saves, as other work is saved in the document), close it. When I re-open Impress, the sentence will be truncated once more.

My computer is fully up to date, running Ubuntu 20.04, and Version 7.3.7.2 of LibreOffice.
Environment states CPU threads: 8, OS Linux 5.15 (Ubuntu version 1:7.3.7-0ubuntu0.22.04.1, calc threaded)

Do you use a gradient as background image?

Then Bug:

tdf#153265

1 Like

No, I don’t use a gradient. I do however have a background image that fills the entire window.

Upload a reduced and anonymized file here so that someone can examine it.