list of libreoffice document suffixes?

I just want to know the suffixes and what type of document does it correspond to. I am new to libreoffice.

For example in my world, word document’s suffix is .doc. i got confused because i made a .xlc document (cat pract.xlc) thinking it was an excel document. But when i opened it it was a “word document”

Example:

.doc = word document
.ppo = powerpoint

Some thing easy like this above is good so we all know. I could find a good search result because it is an odd question to ask.

See LibreOffice Help on XML File Formats.

Also, when you choose menu File - Save as… in the File type field you can see all available formats for the actual module (module = Writer, Calc, Impress, etc.).

Add Answer is reserved for solutions. If you think the answer is not satisfactory, add a comment below, or click edit (below your question) to add more information. Thanks.

Check the mark (Answer markCorrect answer mark) to the left of the answer that solves your question (it may take a little while until it turns green).

This is interesting for information only because you have generally no use for it.

The extension (this is how the “suffix” is technically named) is an artefact historically used by older OS’s to launch the “correct” application when you double-click on a file icon. The association between extension and application is stored in a system dictionary. This dictionary can altered by user to divert handling to another application. The trick is used so that M$ Office documents (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, …) are opened by LO (Writer, Calc, Impress, …) when the M$ suite is not present on the computer.