Master document vs. normal document -- what is the difference?

hi,

please don’t take it as a stupid question right off…

what I mean:
you have a document and you insert sections, they will be chapters…
and these sections are other documents (sub documents) linked into this document…

so, as we know, master documents are invented to handle this situation,
however, any document can practically function like this, cause linking in documents works… creating sections also works…

so, is there a tangible difference?
is there a reason to opt for master document, instead of using a normal document as a “main” document, so to speak?

thanks very much in advance,

peter

1 Like

As far as I know, it is simply about the Size and Overview of documents and their handling.

1 Like

hi,

I use normal documents as master-documents…
cause I studied the case at one point, and drew this conclusion…
I hope I’m not making a mistake…

am I? :slight_smile:

Can that help?
Master documents in Writer

Supplemental:
English documentation

Not much difference, If you think of single books. But a master-document adds a new layer of Styles and Rules to apply them. So I can use a chapter “from ASCII to Unicode” with different styles in different books, without changes in the chapter, because the Style for the books are kept in master-files.

1 Like

hi Wanderer,

I thin what you say, although absolutely covers the case, can be also said of a normal document
which is being used as a master document…

in a “normal” document, used as a “main document”, the styles overwrite the subdocuments’…

(right now I cannot log in, but when I’m at my other machine, already logged in, I’ll thank you at your post)

thank you,

at which chapter should I look?
and what does it say there that will answer our question?

thank you