New to LibreOffice Databases - Forms, Checkbox, and Fields

I’m relatively new to LibreOffice Databases, and one of the things I’m looking to do with a form is this:

• have a series of checkboxes in the form
  • each selected checkbox will append a string to the field in order

This is for a card game design, where the checkboxes would be things like ‘action types’ (e.g. offensive, defensive, counter, etc) so that a single card entry could have a field which was “Offensive Defensive” or “Defensive Counter” or “Offensive Counter” rather than having a version of “Offensive TRUE, Defensive TRUE, Counter FALSE, etc”.

Is it possible to do that relatively easily or am I just wishing upon stars and way too much ‘coding in the guts’?

There is no such thing as a “LibreOffice database”. You may use embedded HSQL, embedded Firebird, good ol’ dBase or any kind of database engine accessible through some ODBC or JDBC driver.
Available options depend on the actually used database engine. See status bar of your Base document.

Yes, because you are thinking from the wrong end.
What you describe sounds like a many-to-many relation. First, you need to implement this relation in three database tables, say “Items”, “Properties” and “Items_Properties” mapping items to properties. Then there is one recipe to create a form mapping properties to items and vice versa.
https://forum.openoffice.org/en/forum/download/file.php?id=11250 (relation between persons and tools where each person can have many tools and each tool can be property of many persons).

It’s okay, the answer seems to be “No you can’t make checkboxes append fixed strings into a single larger string”, and I guess I’ll just have to do it manually.

There is a well established method able to map your items to item properties. Once you have implemented this method, the right database engine** offers a function GROUP_CONCAT which calculates the concatenated property names for each item.
** unfortunately not embedded HSQL