[Newbie question][Writer] Custom special character list

Hello. I’m new to Libreoffice but really like it. The way i can write formulas is really easy and much easier than on Microsoft Office.

However, i still hate the way i can enter special charater (as i hated on Word, i hate on Writer). It would be nice to have kind of custom list of special characters in Special characters window. The literally lifesaver feature, however, is while creating formula, the %pi or %psi shortcut. I’d like to have one for other special characters as well. The % trick didn’t work on Rho symbol for example. I’d like to add it so it would be %rho . Is it possible?

The bonus question is, when i type Re in formula, it will change those two letters into something like this. Can i disable this “correction”?

The Math Guide explicitly states that Greek characters are designated as %-notation in two forms:

• %-lowercase_name
  • %-UPPERCASE_NAME

Thus, to get rho letter, you must type either %rho for ρ or %RHO for Ρ. Your %Rho is mixed-case and not recognised as a valid form.

Bonus answer

The appendix in the Math Guide lists the names which are converting into math symbols. Among these, re stands for the real part of a complex number. If you want this sequence as a literal part in your formula, quote it as "Re". To format it as a variable name, encode it as italic "Re".

PS: I changed your “formula” tag into “math” because formulas are set in the Math application of the LO suite.

Thank you. Found that guide but didn’t find where and even if i can add custom notations there. Unfortunately, %rho didn’t work for me (see this image). The weird part is, the %RHO works just fine.

To the bonus part, yep, that worked well. Thank you for letting me know!

To help diagnose issues, always mention LO version and OS name.

Those are info about my libreoffice:
Version: 7.2.2.2 (x64) / LibreOffice Community
Build ID: 02b2acce88a210515b4a5bb2e46cbfb63fe97d56