Opening a file with a macro given the path in URL form

I attempt to accomplish this with the following code snippet…

oDoc = StarDesktop.LoadComponentFromUrl(filePath, "_blank", 0, Noargs())

The variable filePath contains the string “file://Gem_Invoices/49S803A.pdf”
But I get the following error…

BASIC runtime error.
An exception occurred 
Type: com.sun.star.lang.IllegalArgumentException
Message: Unsupported URL <file://Gem_Invoices/49S803A.pdf>: "type detection failed".

Help me please, I am not very good at reading paths in the form of URL. This “/Gem_Invoices/” - where is this? Is this folder somewhere? Where? Perhaps you should tell the macro where to look for Gem_Invoices, and the file in this folder will be easier to find?

file://Gem_Invoices/49S803A.pdf is really not a valid URL. It should be absolute (and start with file:///c:/path/to/Gem_Invoices/49S803A.pdf - notice the number of ‘/’ after the protocol).

Hello,

Believe you are using the incorrect method. LoadComponentFromUrl is for loading into a new or existing frame. See → XComponentLoader Interface Reference

If you want a command within basic, you can use the Shell command. See → Shell Function

As the example in the link, you specify the program to open and the file it is to open:

Sub ExampleShellForWin
    Shell("c:\windows\acrobat.exe  c:\windows\documents\my.pdf",2)
End Sub

My file path is in a macro variable. How can I pass a macro variable to the shell?

I tried constructing the entire shell command in a macro variable…

ShellCommand = "c:\windows\acrobat.exe e:\Gem_Invoices\49S803A.pdf"

Then I tried using that variable in the Shell statement…

Shell (shellCommand,2)

I got a file not found error
I tried hard coding the path in the Shell command as you suggested and still got a file not found error.

Hello,

The code presented was just an example. Is that the exe of your PDF reader. Should replace with correct exe.

On Ubuntu20.04, this code works:

Sub myShell